Removing blog articles

Alex Ho -

Introduction

If you are writing blog articles frequently, you may find over time that they start to become old and not relevant. It is good practice to do some housekeeping by removing these articles from your website.

This guide will explain how you can go about this.

Written guide

How to unpublish or delete an article

For cases where you would like to remove a sinlgle article, the process of deletion is quite straightforward. There are two ways to do this: unpublishing or binning. It is worth explaining the differences between the two.

  • binning - this will place the article in the bin section for the articles, removing it from your website. Think of it like placing files in the recycle bin of your PC. If you simply want to remove it, click this option.
  • unpublishing - the system calls this option 'drafts', but this will unpublish the article and remove it from your website. However it still exists and will be visible on your website if you happened to be logged in as admin. If you want to keep it for reference or to potentially republish again with update content, click this option.

1 - From All Posts

Login and click the Posts link. This will display a table overview of all your posts. 

Should you wish to remove any article, find the relevant title from the list and hover over it. Some options appear when you do.

  • To delete - click the option for 'bin', which will be in red. You do not need to save, the process is done and updated automatically.
  • to unpublish - click the option for 'quick edit'. In the options shown, toggle 'status' to 'draft' and click update. The article will be removed from the main blog page to visitors but you will still see it if you are logged in.

blogs.jpg

2 - From the individual article page

Alternatively, you can delete or unpublish when you are on the individual article page. From the listing, find the article and hover over it. Click the option for ‘edit’.

This will take you to the article's page. 

individual_blog.jpg

  • To delete - click the option for 'move to bin', which will be in red. You do not need to save, the process is done and updated automatically.
  • to unpublish - click the option for 'status'. In the options shown, toggle to 'drafts' and click update. The article will be removed from the main blog page to visitors but you will still see it if you are logged in.

How to unpublish or delete multiple articles

Should you wish to remove multiple articles at once, click the checkbox next to each relevant listing. Once done, at the top of the table there will be a drop-down for ‘bulk actions’. This allows you to perform actions in bulk.

Against each listing there is a checkbox. Select the checkboxes of all articles you wish to unpublish or delete. Then you can toggle the options as follows:

  • To delete - Select all articles, then click in the 'bulk actions' drop-down. Select ‘move to bin’ and click the ‘apply’ button next to it. You do not need to save, the process is done and updated automatically.
  • to unpublish - Select all articles, then click in the 'bulk actions' drop-down. Select ‘edit’ and click the ‘apply’ button next to it. A bulk edit menu will appear. In the 'status' field select 'drafts' as your option then click update. Articles will be unpublished and unavailable to visitors but will remain in the system.

all_blogs_to_unpublish_or_delete.jpg

That's it, all selected articles are now either unpublished or binned. In either case, those articles are removed from your website!

We trust this guide has helped but if you have any questions, please get in touch at: support@practiceweb.co.uk

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk