Restricted Access Groups (RAGs)

Helen Varley -

A Restricted Access Group (RAG) restricts access to specified content to members of a user set.

A Restricted Access Group (RAG) allows us to restrict content to a user set so that only people who have been granted access, ie members of the user set, can view the restricted content.

What do we restrict?

  • Content type - eg Prevent access to any pages whose type is Event
  • Individual items - Select individual items to restrict - an event, a news story.

Note: We only apply access checks when a user is trying to view the full node, not when they are viewing a teaser. So, if you have a page showing Events and teasers, the teaser will show but when the end user tries to view an event, the access check will apply.

Granting/Removing access to users

User sets

Each RAG will have its own User set to control who has access. Only the Owner of the RAG can grant or remove access to users.

Under the admin menu item Content management, go to Restricted Access Groups:

Admin > Content management > Restricted access groups

You will see a list of all the RAGs for the site.

  • Click on the Members link in the row of the RAG that you want to add or remove members. This will take you to the User Sets interface.
  • See User sets helpguide for details of how to add or remove users from the User set.

Once you save the User set, you will be taken back to the list of RAGs for the site.

Membership applications

If an end user attempts to access content that is restricted and they do not have access, they will be given the option to request access. This will generate an email to the owner of the RAG with a link.

When the group owner clicks the link in the email, they will to taken to the admin area of the website and will see a list of outstanding Group membership requests where they can approve or deny the request. This generates an email to the end user who requested access.

Alternatively, the group owner can go to the RAG in the admin area and click the link under the heading Pending members.

Content Restrictions

Restricting content

Only the Owner of the RAG can amend content restrictions.

Under the admin menu item Content management, go to Restricted Access Groups:

Admin > Content management > Restricted access groups

You will see a list of all the RAGs for the site.

  • Click on the Name of the RAG in the row of the RAG that you want to add content to. You will see an overview of the restricted content.
  • Add content you want to be restricted:
    • Individual items
      • Select the Add items tab.
      • Search for content by Title, Content Type, Published, Content vocabulary or Services vocabulary
      • Check the box next to the content you want to restrict.
      • Click button to Add to Restricted Access Group.
      • Confirm that you want to restrict the content.
    • Content Type - click the tab for Content types. You will see a list of all the content types for the site.
      • Check the box(es) next to the content type you want to restrict access to.
      • Click Submit. You will be taken back to the list of RAGs.

Checking what is restricted

Only the Owner of the RAG can view content restrictions.

Under the admin menu item Content management, go to Restricted Access Groups:

Admin > Content management > Restricted access groups

You will see a list of all the RAGs for the site.

  • Click on the Name of the RAG in the row of the RAG that you want to add content to. You will see an overview of the restricted content.
  • Click on Individual items or Content type to check which content is restricted

Removing individual items

  • Click on the link for Individual items. You will be taken to a list of individual items restricted by the RAG.
  • Check the box next to the individual item that you want to unrestrict.
  • Click Remove from Restricted Access Group.
  • Confirm that you want to remove the item. You will be taken back to the list of Individual items and the item will no longer appear or be restricted.

Removing content types

  • Click the link for Content types. You will be taken to a list of content types available for the website.
  • Uncheck the box next to the individual item that you want to unrestrict.
  • Click Submit to save your changes.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk